Schools - July 14, 2010

Graduation 2010: La Entrada graduates 99 eighth-graders

La Entrada's Class of 2010 received diplomas June 10 during a festive ceremony in the middle school's gym that featured class speakers, music, awards, and short recorded student reflections on their times in the Las Lomitas School District.

The 99 eighth-graders entered the gym to "Yellow" by Cold Play and exited to "Ain't No Mountain High Enough" by Marvin Gaye.

Eric Hartwig, superintendent of the Las Lomitas School District, welcomed the students, their families and guests. Jill Galbraith, student body president, served as master of ceremonies.

Chandler Wickers, Spencer Murphy, Zoe Pacalin and Kaela Han were selected as the featured student speakers. All eighth-graders wrote an essay in their English classes. The speeches were narrowed to finalists who gave their speeches to teachers serving as judges. Thomas Suesser led the flag salute.

Sonya Dineen, assistant principal, presented the Larry McCarty Inspirational Award to eighth-grader Sabihi Viswanathan, who was nominated by a peer and chosen by a committee from the Larry McCarty Foundation for Kids and school representatives.

Principal Larry Thomas announced the student awards, and presented the graduating class to Jamie Schein, president of the Las Lomitas School District board, who awarded the diplomas.

A reception was held immediately after the ceremony before the graduates celebrated later at "Grad Night," planned by their parents.


B-CVanessa Balcazar, Landon Baty, Rachel Bayersdorfer, David Brayman, Joshua Buttram, Charles Cain, Sofia Caryotakis, Angelica Causor, Joanne Cho, Jacob Choplin, Andrew Connell, Adam Cook, Sean Cox.

D-GRobert deGeus, Paul DeTrempe, Matthew DeTrempe, David Dillon, John Donahue, Taylor Fortnam, Jill Galbraith, Ryan Galvin, Nicholas Garcia, Samantha Gardiner, Jordan Good, Gabriela Grant.

H-JKaela Han, William Hanley, Amirhossein Heidari, Jessica Heilman, Grant Henninger, Anthony Hernandez, James Hoffman, Ana Hurtado, Caitlin Jalali, Hana Jenks, Grant Johnson, Kelley Jones.

K-L Aaron Katzman, Carson Kelley, Kathryn Kennedy, William King, Sophia Kivelson, Bradley Knox, Luis Laguna, Angela Lai, Lindy LaPlante, Lindsay Lattin, Charlotte Lee, Nicholas Lee, Christopher Lee, Samuel Leznik, Riley Lico, Julio Lima, Jordan Long.

M-O Ryan MacIntosh, Kevin Magana, Stefany Maldonado, Laiseni Mataele, Lakai Mataele, Andrew Mathews, Leo McCabe, Baylee McDonald, Ruth McGee, Jennifer Melendez, Marleyna Mohler, Brett Moriarty, Melissa Murphy, Spencer Murphy, John Norman, Taylor Oliver.

P-Y Taylor Oliver, Zoe Pacalin, Samantha Parish, Christopher Peck, Madeleine Pont, George Purtell, William Queen, Thomas Suesser, Stephanie Trejo, Maxwell Tyler, Evan Vandermaas, Sabiha Viswanathan, Danielle Walsh, Kristen Walsh, Gillian Weisenfluh, Chandler Wickers, Tiffany Yang, Adam Yecies.

Marjorie Mader compiled these graduation stories.


There are no comments yet for this post

Post a comment

Posting an item on Town Square is simple and requires no registration. Just complete this form and hit "submit" and your topic will appear online. Please be respectful and truthful in your postings so Town Square will continue to be a thoughtful gathering place for sharing community information and opinion. All postings are subject to our TERMS OF USE, and may be deleted if deemed inappropriate by our staff.

We prefer that you use your real name, but you may use any "member" name you wish.

Name: *

Select your neighborhood or school community: * Not sure?

Choose a category: *

Since this is the first comment on this story a new topic will also be started in Town Square! Please choose a category that best describes this story.

Comment: *

Verification code: *
Enter the verification code exactly as shown, using capital and lowercase letters, in the multi-colored box.

*Required Fields