Schools - August 4, 2010

High school grads win Kolozsi scholarships

by Michael Abramson

Eleven high school graduates from the Sequoia Union High School District have received Kelly Kolozsi Scholarships, given to students with high academic achievement, a record of contributing to their school and community, and a demonstrated financial need.

The students must also plan to enroll in one of the University of California schools, says Tita Kolozsi of Atherton, the mother of Kelly, for whom the scholarship is named.

Kelly Kolozsi was killed in 1989 at age 24 when his car was struck by a vehicle driven by a drunken driver. Kelly had graduated from Menlo-Atherton High School in 1982 and UC Santa Barbara in 1986.

The scholarships, which have been given for 21 years, range from $1,000 to $2,500, depending on the financial need of the student.

Five of the eleven winners were named Kelly Kolozsi Scholars and can apply for a renewal scholarship next year. These students are Chelsea Braun and Alena McLucas of Woodside High School, Victoria Tinoco of Sequoia High School, Natalie Poon of Carlmont High School, and Courtney Durdle of Menlo-Atherton High School. Ms. Braun will attend UCLA; Ms. McLucas, UC Davis; Ms. Tinoco, UC Riverside; Ms. Poon, UC San Diego; and Ms. Durdle, UC Davis.

Six students, five from Woodside High School and one from Menlo-Atherton High School, received awards of merit. Sarah Bance, Kristin Goedicke, Lily Shanahan, Daniel Steiner, and Haley Valleta all graduated from Woodside High School while Allison Malathong graduated from Menlo-Atherton High School. Ms. Goedicke and Mr. Steiner will attend UC Berkeley; Ms. Bance, UC Santa Cruz; Ms. Shanahan, UC Riverside; Ms. Valleta, UC Davis; and Ms. Malathong, UC Merced.

Woodside High School graduate Adedemeji Aiyedogbon, a student at UC Davis, and Carlmont High School graduate Michelle Martinez, a UC Merced student, have both received renewal scholarships after being named Kelly Kolozsi scholars last year.

Maria Patino of Woodside High School received an honorable mention. Patino will attend UC Davis next year.

Members of the selection committee this year were Marty Fuller, Jennifer Heaton, Richard Hirayama, Bryan Kolozsi, Tita Kolozsi, Ellen Hohbach-Scheetz and Dan Siegal.

For more information regarding the scholarship, contact Tita Kolozsi at


There are no comments yet for this post

Post a comment

Posting an item on Town Square is simple and requires no registration. Just complete this form and hit "submit" and your topic will appear online. Please be respectful and truthful in your postings so Town Square will continue to be a thoughtful gathering place for sharing community information and opinion. All postings are subject to our TERMS OF USE, and may be deleted if deemed inappropriate by our staff.

We prefer that you use your real name, but you may use any "member" name you wish.

Name: *

Select your neighborhood or school community: * Not sure?

Choose a category: *

Since this is the first comment on this story a new topic will also be started in Town Square! Please choose a category that best describes this story.

Comment: *

Verification code: *
Enter the verification code exactly as shown, using capital and lowercase letters, in the multi-colored box.

*Required Fields