Town Square

Sequoia Healthcare District MSR due from LAFCo

Original post made by Jack Hickey, Woodside: Emerald Hills, on Feb 11, 2013

The last Municipal Service Review for Healthcare Districts was adopted by The San Mateo County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) in April of 2007. See: Web Link
Resolution No. 1003 amending the sphere of influence of Sequoia and Peninsula Health Care District was adopted on May 16,2007. See: Web Link

Government Code Section 56425 requires LAFCo to review and update spheres of influence on or before January 1, 2008 and every five years thereafter.

These reviews are important for determining whether Districts should be dissolved, combined, etc.

Readers who have been following the Sequoia Healthcare District topics in the Town Square Forum are invited to submit your suggestions to LAFCo. Contact Martha Poyatos at


Like this comment
Posted by Jack Hickey
a resident of Woodside: Emerald Hills
on Feb 12, 2013 at 2:47 pm

LAFCo Commissioners and Staff

The Commission is made up of two members of the county Board of Supervisors (appointed by the County Board of Supervisors), two members of city councils of the cities in the county (appointed by the Council of Mayors), two board members of independent special districts in the county (appointed by the presiding officers of Independent Special Districts), a public member (appointed by the county, city and special district members), and four alternate members (county, city, special district and public). LAFCo's budget is funded by application fees and by the County, cities and independent special districts. The Commission contracts with the County of San Mateo for an Executive Officer, legal counsel and office space.

LAFCo Commissioners Term Ending
Linda Craig Public Member May, 2014
David Altscher Special District Member May, 2014
Joseph Sheridan Special District Member May, 2016
Vacant City Member May, 2014
Naomi Patridge City Member May, 2013
Adrienne Tissier Board of Supervisors May, 2016
Don Horsley Board of Supervisors, Chair May, 2016
Warren Slocum Alternate Supervisor Member May, 2016
Joshua Cosgrove Alternate Special District Member May, 2016
Richard Garbarino Alternate for City Members May, 2015
Jayne Herman Alternate Public Member May, 2014

LAFCo Executive Officer
Martha Poyatos