Search the Archive:

Back to the Table of Contents Page

Back to The Almanac Home Page


Publication Date: Wednesday, July 24, 2002

Election 2002 roundup Election 2002 roundup (July 24, 2002)

Menlo Park

Consider it contested.

When Menlo Park voters go to the polls to choose three council members in November, it looks as if they'll get to choose from at least four candidates.

Incumbent Nicholas Jellins, former Planning Commissioner Bill Halleck, Parks & Recreation Commissioner Lee Duboc, and Linfield Oaks resident Michael Meyer have all said they intend to run, though none had filed nomination papers by Monday afternoon.

Kirsten Keith, a Willows resident, has taken out nomination papers but said Monday she is "just considering" running. The same goes for incumbents Mary Jo Borak and Steve Schmidt.

Ms. Keith is president of the Commission on the Status of Women for San Mateo County, a body appointed by the county Board of Supervisors. A resident of Menlo Park since 1996, she is one of seven residents who make up the city's Community Mediation Service. She also has applied for a seat on the city's Planning Commission in the past.

If any one of the three incumbents does not file to run for re-election by August 9 at 5 p.m., the deadline to file nomination papers will be extended to August 14 at 5 p.m., said City Clerk Susan Ramos.

Candidates must be registered voters and residents of the city. Call 858-3381.

Atherton Mayor and Councilman Alan Carlson has filed papers to be on the ballot in November, when three seats on the five-member City Council are up for election, said Sharon Barker, Atherton's city clerk.

Mr. Carlson took out papers for the Atherton City Council election Monday, July 15, the first day of the filing period. He returned papers two days later, she said.

Charles Marsala, a member of the town's Park and Recreation and Arts committees, took out candidate papers July 17, and incumbent Bill Conwell took out papers July 19, said Ms. Barker.

Incumbent Dianne "DiDi" Fisher has said she will not run for re-election.
School boards

David Bailard and incumbent Libby Tyree-Taylor have declared their intention to run for two of the three open seats on the governing board of the Las Lomitas Elementary School District in the November election, according to the roster of candidates listed at the Web site of the county's chief elections officer.

The board of the Menlo Park Elementary School District has three open seats this year. Incumbents Nancy Serrurier and Laura Linkletter Rich have both declared their intention to run for re-election; Carol Orton has filed papers for a position on the board, the Web site said.


Copyright © 2002 Embarcadero Publishing Company. All rights reserved.
Reproduction or online links to anything other than the home page
without permission is strictly prohibited.