Search the Archive:

June 16, 2004

Back to the Table of Contents Page

Back to The Almanac Home Page


Publication Date: Wednesday, June 16, 2004

Ex-defense secretary speaks to Mid-Peninsula graduates Ex-defense secretary speaks to Mid-Peninsula graduates (June 16, 2004)

William J. Perry, defense secretary in the Clinton administration (1994-97), spoke at the May 28 graduation ceremony for the private Mid-Peninsula High School in Menlo Park.

Dr. Perry, professor in Stanford University's School of Engineering and the Institute for International Studies, is co-director of the Preventive Defense Project and a senior fellow at the Hoover Institution.

In the talk in the school gymnasium, heard by about 600 people, Dr. Perry quoted Robert Frost's "The Road Less Traveled," and assured students that people can choose less-traveled roads and still be successful in life.

The talk was relevant, said Doug Thompson, head of the school, because the school's mission is to enable its graduates to become "capable, self-directed individuals who care about themselves, their families, and their communities."

Six students -- Ava Herceg, Wesley Kramer, Ryan O'Farrell, La Toya O'Neill, Christopher Shum, and Danielle Williams -- spoke about their school experiences, and encouraged others to "reach for their dreams."

Fifty seniors received diplomas. The graduates are:

B-D Michael Carter Barkoff, Karlan Philip Barnes, David C. Bennett, Daniel Bertoldi, Emily Rose Borodkin, Andrew Brenner, Emily Miranda Carrillo, Paul Jackson Collins, Lindsay Marie Crom, Tuija Kathleen Dea, Tiffany J. Dennis, Grayson Cole Dove

E-K Paul Eisenberg, Peter Glenn Ellison, Bill Estell, Ashley Patricia Ewanich, William Frank Gilbert Jr., John E. Heath, Ava Adelle Herceg, Jasmine R. Tal Kliger, Wesley Tyler Kramer, Benjamin C. Krause

L-P Gregory Alfred Larrenaga, Eric J. Long, Michael Luce, Da'Ron D. Maxie, William David McKay, Robert Michael, Patrick Murphy, Ryan Patrick O'Farrell, La Toya M. O'Neal, Christen O'Neill, Keri Olsen, Matthew G. Payne, Carl Joseph Pitlick, Kevin J. Powell

R-W Shirelle L. Reese, Morgan Ramsey Rees, Juliet Marie Schiebold, Hunter Faber Soper, Christopher Shum, John Paul Jameson St. Clair, Jessica Ann Stanley, Natalie Marie Stenzel, Jason Robert Stergion, Seth Peter Tornborg, Nicci R. Vaiarello, Danielle Mishia Williams, Scott E. Winegarden

E-mail a friend a link to this story.

Copyright © 2004 Embarcadero Publishing Company. All rights reserved.
Reproduction or online links to anything other than the home page
without permission is strictly prohibited.