All-State football honors for Menlo School's Robbins, Diekroeger

Robbins named to first team while Diekroeger is second-team pick in Small Schools Division

Menlo School seniors Clay Robbins and Danny Diekroeger played huge roles in the Knights' highly successful football season in 2009. Among their many accomplishments, they helped Menlo reach its first-ever championship game in the Central Coast Section playoffs.

This week, ESPN's honored both players with positions on its All-State teams after the duo set regional records and led the Knights to 9-4 season.

Robbins earned a first-team spot in the Small Schools Division after posting 1,706 receiving yards (second in the state), and Diekroeger earned a second-team spot in the same division after accumulating a school-record 4,185 passing yards (also second in the state).

Robbins and Diekroeger became the eighth and ninth players in Menlo School history to be honored on ESPN's All-State football teams. Previous honorees include Jerry Rice Jr. (2008), Nick Lycette (2008), Ricky Hawkins (2006), Wayde Walker (1991), Brandon Stephens (1990), Jimmy Noriega (1990) and John Paye (1980-82).

Noriega was the Small School State Player of the Year in '90 while Paye won the award in '80. Paye also was the Junior State Player of the Year in '81 and was honored as the Mr. Football State Player of the Year for his division in '82.

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Don't be the last to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

First Sunnyvale, then Australia: Mountain View's Le Plonc plots expansion
By Elena Kadvany | 0 comments | 2,368 views

Juggling Renewables
By Sherry Listgarten | 27 comments | 1,803 views

Premarital and Couples: Living as Roommates?
By Chandrama Anderson | 2 comments | 1,344 views

Homestead Faire at Hidden Villa 4/27
By Laura Stec | 0 comments | 521 views

A trial run
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 507 views


The Almanac Readers' Choice ballot is here

It's time to decide what local business is worthy of the title "The Almanac Readers' Choice" — and you get to decide! Cast your ballot online. Voting ends May 27th. Stay tuned for the results in the July 17th issue of The Almanac.