La Entrada School awards diplomas to 127


Submitted by Tanya Rianda, sixth grade/student activities director, La Entrada School.

La Entrada's Class of 2011 received diplomas June 8 during a festive ceremony in the Menlo Park middle school's gym that featured class speakers, music, awards, and short recorded student reflections on their times in the Las Lomitas School District.

The 127 eighth-graders entered the gym to "100 Years" by Five for Fighting and exited to "Viva la Vida" by Coldplay.

Eric Hartwig, superintendent of the Las Lomitas School District, welcomed the students, their families and guests. William Richardson, student body president, served as master of ceremonies.

Ashley Utz, Amanda Wiseman, Sebastian Krappe, and Brook Anderson were selected as the featured student speakers. All eighth-graders wrote an essay in their English classes. The speeches were narrowed to finalists who gave their speeches to teachers serving as judges. ASB Secretary Conner Bennett led the flag salute.

Sonya Dineen, assistant principal, presented the Larry McCarty Inspirational Award to eighth-grader Farbod Nowzad, who was nominated by a peer and chosen by a committee from the Larry McCarty Foundation for Kids and school representatives.

Principal Larry Thomas announced the student awards and presented the graduating class to John McDonald, president of the Las Lomitas School District board, who awarded the diplomas.

A reception was held immediately after the ceremony before the graduates celebrated later at "Grad Night," planned by their parents.


A-C: Shannon Aguiar, Brooke Anderson, Grace Baker, Natalie Baker, Luke Balzarini, Grace Barada, Conner Bennett, Jason Blazensky, Sydney Bonham, Brenten Brandenburg, Francesca Burlington, Renee Butler, Victoria Canny, Grace Casolo, Kendall Chapman, John Chitouras, Ikjoo Cho, Marie-Agnes Claverie, Brian Coggins, Gabriel Cohen, Alice Coleman

D-G: Ashley Davis, Natalie DeLong, Jennifer DiSanto, Evan Easton, Marta Fatica, Sean Felderman, Wesley Fischer, Benjamin Flanagan, Ryan Foster, Hayley Fryling, Taylor Fryling, Katelyn Gaherty, Justin Galvin, Alexander Garcia, Ashley Garcia, Max Gardiner, Sarah Geonzon, Daryl Goins, Zachary Goland, Alyssa Goldberg, Alexander Gonzalez, Erin Goode, Jenna Greenstein, Christine Guenin

H-L: Athony Hernandez, Anthony Hernandez, Kyle Hom, Inga Hwang, Mikel Hylkema, Ryan Jacquemet, Roman Joustra, Zachary Katz, Caroline Kelly, Hanna Kiani, Paul Kiraly, Didrik Koister, Matthew Korman, Sebastian Krappe, Donald LaHaye, Edward LaHaye, Grant LeRoy, Chloe Lete, Thomas Liang, Benjamin Lipps, Adam Lowsky

M-P: Garrett Mack, Elijah Madrid, Madeleine Maibach, Cameron Malloy, Natalie Marshall, Uate Mataele, Louise Mathevon, Thibault Mathevon, Sabrina Mathews, Steven McColloch, Matthew McGarry, Roman Mezger, Justin Molano, Healey Montague-Alamin, Misato Muraoka, Paige Muschott, Deric Nicolas, Taylor Noble, Farbod Nowzad, Clayton Olsen, Yitzhak Olvera, Talbott Paulsen, Will Peirce, Erin Perrine, Anne Perrone, Cathrine Petersen, Ara Peterson, Maxwell Peterson, Maria Pinto-Garcia, Nicolas Plume, Elizabeth Purpura

Q-Y: Zachary Rash, Ashley Richardson, William Richardson, Weston Sabatini, Daniel Salz, Adam Scandlyn, Stephanie Schein, Nicole Schoonbrood-Fox, Lindsay Schott, Katherine Scioscia, Sarah Scoffone, Kiera Shepard, Justin Shin, Nicole Stanley, Chelsea Tam, Isabelle Tearse, Peyton Uphoff, Ashley Utz, Kyrie Vesely, Blanca Vina-Patino, Kartikeya Vinayak, Matthew Vollrath, Adam Weiss, Erin White, Katherine Wilcox, Kyle Windsor, Amanda Wiseman, Byron Yu, Tia


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Babka bakery to open Thursday in Palo Alto
By Elena Kadvany | 10 comments | 6,763 views

UCSB's CCS program
By John Raftrey and Lori McCormick | 1 comment | 1,244 views

Ten Tips for Teens and Young Adults to Survive a Dysfunctional Family
By Chandrama Anderson | 1 comment | 1,243 views

Farm Bill Passes Congress
By Laura Stec | 0 comments | 631 views