Seats on councils, school boards up for election

Filing period opens for candidates.

The filing period has begun for the Nov. 8 election, when voters will decide the makeup of the Woodside and Portola town councils, plus the governing boards of several school districts and special districts.

The candidate filing period started July 18 and ends at 5 p.m. Friday, Aug. 12. If an incumbent chooses not to run, the filing period is extended five days -- to Aug. 17, this year.

In Portola Valley, Town Councilman Steve Toben announced July 13 that he will not run for re-election when his second term ends in November. The council seat of his colleague on the council, Ann Wengert, is also up election, but she has not yet announced her intentions.

In Woodside, the terms of four council members are ending in November: Dave Burow, Peter Mason, Ron Romines (the current mayor), and Sue Boynton, who said she is not running again.

School districts

The board seats of Steven Humphreys and Jocelyn Swisher in the Portola Valley School District, and Ellen Ablow and Ginger Bamford in the Woodside Elementary School District, are up for election.

In the Sequoia Union High School District, which includes Menlo-Atherton and Woodside high schools, the three board members whose terms expire this year are Don Gibson, Olivia Martinez and Lorraine Rumley.

In the San Mateo County Community College District, the seats of Dave Mandelkern, Patricia Miljanich and Karen Schwarz are up for election.

Special districts

In the Menlo Park Fire Protection District -- which encompasses Atherton, Menlo Park, East Palo Alto and unincorporated areas -- the board terms of Peter Carpenter and Bart Spencer are up this year.

In the Woodside Fire Protection District which covers Woodside, Portola Valley and unincorporated areas board seats of Patrick Cain and John Gardner are up for election. Both Mr. Cain and Mr. Gardner are running for re-election, Woodside district Fire Chief Dan Ghiorso told the Almanac.

The board seats of Ronald Shepherd, David Walker and Fran Dehn in the West Bay Sanitary District are up for election. West Bay collects and disposes of wastewater from Menlo Park, Atherton and Portola Valley, as well as parts of Woodside and unincorporated San Mateo County.

In the Ladera Recreation District, the two board seats up for election are occupied by Peter Caryotakis and Karen Fryling. The recreation district's amenities include swimming pools, a play area, tennis courts, and classes in physical activities, such as yoga and aerobics.

In the Los Trancos County Water District, the board terms of Charlie Krenz and Mike Ward expire this year. The district sold its water system to the California Water Service Co. in 2005, but the district still collects taxes and performs services such as encouraging efficient use of water, maintaining open space, and supporting emergency preparedness, according to its website.


Go to this link for more information, or call the San Mateo County Elections Office at 312-5222.

What is democracy worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

All your news. All in one place. Every day.

Contemporary Indian restaurant, Ettan, headed to Palo Alto
By Elena Kadvany | 5 comments | 6,092 views

Good News: The New Menlo Park Rail Subcommittee Hits A Home Run
By Dana Hendrickson | 12 comments | 1,722 views

Premarital and Couples: Tips for Hearing (Listening) and Being Known
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,358 views

Two degrees can do all that?
By Sherry Listgarten | 3 comments | 895 views

Tame, Maim and Claim the Wild Sea Vegetable
By Laura Stec | 1 comment | 481 views


Register today!

On Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

Learn More