Young poets of Portola Valley recognized


Friends of the Portola Valley Library have proven themselves to also be friends of poetic expression over the last dozen-plus years, sponsoring an annual poetry contest for local children.

This year, the poetry celebration and awards presentation was held May 12 at the Portola Valley Town Center.

The winners received a Kepler's bookstore gift certificate, and awards were presented by Caroline Goodwin, poet laureate of San Mateo County.

This year's winners are:

Kindergarten: Molly Kavert, first place; Teagan Smyth, second place; Darcy Zachystal, third place; Garrett Bailey, honorable mention.

First grade: Asha Aggarwal, first place; Robert Hermann, second place; Kailyn Holty, third place; Henna Batnagar, honorable mention.

Second grade: Jack Carr, first place; Sophia Hinshaw, second place; Aneesh Tiwari, third place; Eric Brewster, honorable mention.

Third grade: Oscar Barnes, first place; Vivian Lambeth, second place; Tristyn Girouard, third place; Evan Ruiz, honorable mention.

Fourth grade: Aidan Low, first place; Kayla J. Davis, second place; Yaya Harman, third place; Brynn Brady, honorable mention.

Fifth grade: Grace Sutherland, first place; Sophia Gottfried, second place; Jackson Girouard, third place; Lucie Nash, honorable mention.

Sixth grade: Maya Blevins, first place; Caroline Smith, second place; Jake Gainey, third place; Justine Biscay, honorable mention.

Seventh grade: Olivia Vercruysse, first place; Olivia K. Treynor, second place; Rachael Miller, third place; Kenneth Akers, honorable mention.

Eighth grade: Roark Sweidy Stata, first place; Alex Strehlow, second place; Max Fairon, third place; Mercer Stronck, honorable mention.

Ninth grade: Ryan Calbert, first place.

Tenth grade: Sarah Halabe, first place; Samwise Pollack, second place; Kylie Harrison, third place; Richy Chen, honorable mention.

Eleventh grade: Siddharth Gandhi, first place; Jerry Zeng, second place; Andy Isokpchi, third place; Caroline Paulou, honorable mention.

Twelfth grade: Non Kuramoto, first place; Howard Mu, second place; Victor Wan, third place; Alex Klein, honorable mention.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Couples: So You Married Mom or Dad . . .
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 896 views

Eat, Surf, Love
By Laura Stec | 2 comments | 862 views

Spring College Fairs
By John Raftrey and Lori McCormick | 0 comments | 807 views

The Cost of Service
By Aldis Petriceks | 1 comment | 487 views

Willow-Gate, and Safe Routes to School
By Stuart Soffer | 5 comments | 484 views