Menlo Rotary Club awards $125,000 in scholarships


More than 100 students from local high schools received scholarships and academic awards during the Rotary Club of Menlo Park's recent scholastic achievement awards ceremony at Menlo-Atherton High School's Performing Arts Center.

Scholarships worth $125,000 were awarded May 16 to 19 local high school students, including five who received Alice Kleeman Community College Awards, named after the longtime guidance counselor at M-A.

Rotary Club of Menlo Park Foundation President Pete Nelson explained that the scholarship funds are derived from contributions by club members, investments from former members and donors, and club fundraising events, such as the Tour de Menlo bicycle ride held in August.

Other scholarships of varying amounts went to 14 students who were selected by the Rotary Club's Scholarship Committee, whose members interviewed student applicants.

The scholastic achievement awards went to 111 students from Menlo-Atherton, Eastside Preparatory, Sacred Heart Prep and Menlo School. Another four students from Eastside Preparatory, who attended the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards campout, also were honored.

The evening began with a rousing concert by the Menlo-Atherton Jazz Band. After introductions of Rotary Club officers, there was a talk by venture capitalist Jeff Miller, who told students how to succeed in business using the Golden State Warriors as an example. Mr. Miller is a minority investor in the Warriors.

The scholastic achievement awards were presented by principals of each school to students as their names were called and they walked across the stage.

Here are the scholarship winners:

● John D. Russell Scholarship: Alondra Sanchez, Eastside Preparatory, who will attend U.C. Berkeley.

● Crittenden Family Scholarship: Caleb Colin-Perez, Eastside Preparatory, who will attend U.C. Santa Cruz.

● Robert G. Paroli Family Scholarship: Nohely Peraza, Eastside Preparatory, who will attend Williams College.

● Doris and Orm Rector Scholarship: Lesly Gopar, Menlo-Atherton High School, who will attend U.C. Davis.

● Tsui/Tsiang Family Math and Science Scholarship: Amanda Kelly, Menlo-Atherton, who will attend U.C. Davis.

● Rotary Business and Professional Scholarship: Yadira Ayala, Sacred Heart Prep, who will attend U.C. Santa Barbara.

● Drue Kataoka Arts Scholarship: Jennifer Villegas, Eastside Preparatory, who will attend U.C. Santa Cruz.

Menlo Park Rotary Foundation Scholarships:

● Wen-Shin (Cindy) Chen, Menlo School, who will attend U.C. Davis.

● Andriana Contreras-Sandoval, Menlo School, who will attend U.C. Berkeley.

● Yesenia Garnica, Eastside Preparatory, who will attend Santa Clara.

● Tatiana Guardado, Eastside Preparatory, who will attend U.C. Santa Cruz.

● Diaja Smith, Sacred Heart Prep, who will attend DePaul.

● Lilika Teu, Sacred Heart Prep, who will attend S.F. Academy of Art.

● Lupe Ma'afu, EPA Academy, who will attend U.C. Davis.

Alice Kleeman Community College Awards (awarded to M-A students only): Alejandra Brambila, Canada College; Juan Caballero Lozano, Canada College; Monique Hill, College of San Mateo; Enedina Meza Martinez, College of San Mateo; and Rafael Zumarraga, Madera Community College.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Opening alert: Dumpling Garden in Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 6 comments | 7,542 views

Always Moving: Jazmin Toca's Tale of Joy, Disability, and Purpose
By Aldis Petriceks | 0 comments | 1,298 views

The Last Straw
By Laura Stec | 7 comments | 667 views

Couples: Do you Really Agree or are you Afraid of not Agreeing?
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 645 views

Trying to enjoy the routines again
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 212 views


The Almanac Readers' Choice ballot is here

It's time to decide what local business is worthy of the title "The Almanac Readers' Choice" — and you get to decide! Cast your ballot online. Voting ends May 28th. Stay tuned for the results in the July 18th issue of The Almanac.