Atherton names student winners of Environmental Challenge awards


Four teams of students from Woodside and Menlo-Atherton high schools were recently named top winners in Atherton's Environmental Challenge competition, sponsored by the town's Environmental Quality Committee as part of its May Earth Action Fair.

The four teams and their winning projects are:

• Woodside High's team of Samantha Reitmaier, Alessia Presotto and Etienne Rappaport for Ocean Acidification on Coral Reefs Project – a research report on how carbon dioxide acidifies ocean water, damaging and destroying coral reefs.

• Menlo-Atherton High's team of Arin Spanner, Riley McKee, Patrick Sullivan, Sam Chazen and Nick Andrew for their Sustainable Electric Bike – a demonstration of how to use a solar charger and a drill to electrify a bike for under $100.

• Menlo-Atherton High's team of Axel Brenner, Blake Henry, Charlie Cummings, Quinn Rowland and Lucas Fioretti for their Electricycle project – a demonstration of how a bike could be used to produce electricity to power a laptop and a speaker.

• Woodside High's team of Jason Asenso, Tom Goldberg, Stefan Buhr and Galilea Prado for their Geothermal Energy Presentation – showing how a geothermal system can use the earth's natural heat to produce energy.

Winning honors awards were:

• Menlo Atherton's Cameron Sheppard, Taylor Foster, Clara Dewey and Molly Baxter for Our Energy Mix: Sustainable vs. Unsustainable Resource Presentation.

• Menlo-Atherton's Zaira Sepulveda, Melissa Navas, Manuela Velasquez and Tonya Golstev for Sustainable Cooking Presentation.

• Menlo-Atherton's Caraline Albro, Kirby Hocking, Aliza Katzman and Diana Gruber for their Sustainable Architecture Model and Presentation.

• Woodside's Stephanie Rojas, Roxana Eguizabal, Elizabeth Ricano and Mayra Yepez for their Net Zero Energy Presentation.

• Menlo-Atherton's Jasmine Soria, Steve Diaz, Nicole Lao and Hanako Ruiz for their Bike Generating Electricity Presentation.

• Woodside's Auryana Rodriguez and Alyssa Giacomoni for their Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change History Presentation.

Honorable mention awards went to:

• Menlo-Atherton's Julisa Lopez, Giselle Martinez, Annabelle Paris and Maddie Sonderby for their Children's Story "Trash Talk."

• Woodside's Abigayl Rodriguez and Diana Ardon for their Household Waste and Effects on the Environment Presentation.

• Menlo-Atherton's Helena Hoover, Kate Flanagan, Joanna Vollrath and Katie Moffitt for their Waste Management at M-A Presentation.

• Menlo-Atherton's David Ebert, Jack Hinshaw, Alex Carlson and Kevin Jiang for their Bicycle Powered Blender Model.

• Menlo-Atherton's Siena Hooper, Grace Fergusson, Madeline Heller and Nina Larijani for their Sustainable City Presentation.

• Woodside's Drew Healy, Noemi Rieber, Keaton Gibbs and Ida Shiri for their Zero Waste Presentation.

• Menlo-Atherton's Carolyn Murphy, Lauryn Hart, Allie Bayne and Grace Gaffney for Trash to Art.

• Woodside's Raveena Massis, Mariela Lopez, Sarah Preston and Gaby Guzman for their Personal Waste Presentation.

• Menlo-Atherton's Mia Szymkowski, Eric Szymkowski, Isabel Wendin and Suraj Dhawan for their Rain Barrel Demonstration.

See a video of the event on YouTube.

What is democracy worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

All your news. All in one place. Every day.

After experiencing harassment, owner of Zareen's restaurants speaks out about Islamophobia, racism
By Elena Kadvany | 28 comments | 7,539 views

Don't Miss Your Exit (and other lessons from an EV drive)
By Sherry Listgarten | 14 comments | 2,494 views

Goodbye Food Waste!
By Laura Stec | 8 comments | 2,441 views

Good News: The New Menlo Park Rail Subcommittee Hits A Home Run
By Dana Hendrickson | 12 comments | 1,629 views

Premarital and Couples: Tips for Hearing (Listening) and Being Known
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,010 views


Register today!

On Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

Learn More