Lopez wins lacrosse All-American honors | July 3, 2013 | Almanac | Almanac Online |


Sports - July 3, 2013

Lopez wins lacrosse All-American honors

Alex Lopez of Portola Valley is one of 15 Bay Area players to be named as a U.S. Lacrosse High School All-American Player. The honor is awarded to only the top 100 lacrosse athletes in the country and is the first All-American lacrosse honor awarded to a Woodside High student, according to U.S. Lacrosse, the national governing body of lacrosse.

The athletes were nominated by their coaches and supported by their respective leagues.

A presentation of the award was made recently at Woodside High School, where Alex was a graduating senior. He plans to attend Kenyon College in the fall. He is the son of Cathy Oyster, a Woodside High School alumnae, and Carlos Lopez.

Among Alex Lopez honors at Woodside High, he was named senior male athlete of the year and received an Athletic Boosters scholarship award.


There are no comments yet for this post

Post a comment

Posting an item on Town Square is simple and requires no registration. Just complete this form and hit "submit" and your topic will appear online. Please be respectful and truthful in your postings so Town Square will continue to be a thoughtful gathering place for sharing community information and opinion. All postings are subject to our TERMS OF USE, and may be deleted if deemed inappropriate by our staff.

We prefer that you use your real name, but you may use any "member" name you wish.

Name: *

Select your neighborhood or school community: * Not sure?

Choose a category: *

Since this is the first comment on this story a new topic will also be started in Town Square! Please choose a category that best describes this story.

Comment: *

Verification code: *
Enter the verification code exactly as shown, using capital and lowercase letters, in the multi-colored box.

*Required Fields


Meet the winners!

The results are in. Check out The Almanac readers' favorite foods, services and fun stuff in the area.

View Winners