Races shape up in college, high school districts | August 7, 2013 | Almanac | Almanac Online |


News - August 7, 2013

Races shape up in college, high school districts

by Dave Boyce

Of the many seats on local governing boards up for election in November, contests appear to be shaping up in the Sequoia Union High School District and the San Mateo County Community College District. With two seats open on each board, three people have filed or taken out candidacy papers in each district.

In the Sequoia district, which includes Woodside and Menlo-Atherton high schools, incumbent Alan Sarver and challenger Georgia Jack have filed candidacy papers. Incumbent Chris Thomsen has taken out papers.

Mr. Sarver, elected in 2009, is a retired software manager, a former K-6 teacher and a resident of Belmont. Mr. Thomsen, also elected in 2009, directs Stanford University's Institute for Research in the Social Sciences and is a resident of Menlo Park. Ms. Jack is a manager in the office of development at Stanford and lives in Redwood City.

In the community college district, incumbent Richard Holober and challengers Thomas Mohr and Samuel Diaz have filed candidacy papers.

Mr. Holober of Millbrae, who has described himself as an educator and consumer advocate, has been re-elected three times. Mr. Mohr of San Mateo was an interim president of Canada College in 2005 and president in 2007. He retired in 2011. Mr. Diaz describes himself as a writer on the candidate roster.

In the West Bay Sanitary District, where there are two board seats open, incumbent Edward "Ned" Moritz has filed candidacy papers and incumbent Roy Thiele-Sardina has taken out papers.

The candidate roster shows no activity so far for elections on the boards of Woodside Fire Protection District (one seat), the Ladera Recreation District (two seats) and the Los Trancos Water District (three seats).

The filing period closes at 5 p.m. Friday, Aug. 9. For offices without an eligible incumbent seeking re-election, the filing period closes at 5 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 14. All terms are for four years. Candidate rosters are updated by the elections office every day at 5 p.m.

Go to tinyurl.com/Elect-202 for roster updates, or to shapethefuture.org for more information on San Mateo County elections.


There are no comments yet for this post

Post a comment

Posting an item on Town Square is simple and requires no registration. Just complete this form and hit "submit" and your topic will appear online. Please be respectful and truthful in your postings so Town Square will continue to be a thoughtful gathering place for sharing community information and opinion. All postings are subject to our TERMS OF USE, and may be deleted if deemed inappropriate by our staff.

We prefer that you use your real name, but you may use any "member" name you wish.

Name: *

Select your neighborhood or school community: * Not sure?

Choose a category: *

Since this is the first comment on this story a new topic will also be started in Town Square! Please choose a category that best describes this story.

Comment: *

Verification code: *
Enter the verification code exactly as shown, using capital and lowercase letters, in the multi-colored box.

*Required Fields


Meet the winners!

The results are in. Check out The Almanac readers' favorite foods, services and fun stuff in the area.

View Winners