New mayors appointed in Portola Valley, Woodside | December 21, 2011 | Almanac | Almanac Online |


News - December 21, 2011

New mayors appointed in Portola Valley, Woodside

by Dave Boyce

Town clerks in Portola Valley and Woodside swore in new and returning officials last week.

In Portola Valley, Jeff Aalfs joined and Ann Wengert rejoined the Town Council on Wednesday, Dec. 14, as Councilman Steve Toben departed after two four-year terms.

The council saved about $10,000 — the cost of an election — by appointing Mr. Aalfs and Ms. Wengert since they were the only two candidates in an election for two open seats.

The mayor until December 2012 is Maryann Moise Derwin, who was appointed by unanimous vote of the council after the swearing-in ceremony. Councilman John Richards was appointed vice mayor.

In Woodside, which did hold an election, the new member of the council is Tom Shanahan, who represents District 3 and who was sworn in Tuesday, Dec. 13, along with returning councilmen Dave Burow, Peter Mason and Ron Romines.

The council then unanimously appointed Councilman Dave Tanner as mayor and Councilwoman Anne Kasten as mayor pro tempore.

Mr. Aalfs is not inexperienced in town government, having been appointed by the council to the Architectural & Site Control Commission (ASCC) in December 2008. He is self-employed as a residential energy consultant, helping homeowners and home designers comply with government energy codes and improve efficiency in new and existing homes.

Mr. Shanahan is the head and a general partner of the West Coast investment banking firm Needham Asset Management LLC on Sand Hill Road. He was a chief financial officer at several Silicon Valley firms and a co-founder of Agile Software Corp.


There are no comments yet for this post