Portola Valley: Six show interest in council race | August 7, 2013 | Almanac | Almanac Online |



News - August 7, 2013

Portola Valley: Six show interest in council race

by Dave Boyce

The November election for three Town Council seats in Portola Valley may be shaping up to be a contest now that two more people — SallyAnn Reiss and Taylor Hinshaw — have taken out candidacy papers.

That brings the total to three who have taken out papers plus these three who have filed them: incumbent John Richards, an architect and the current mayor; software entrepreneur Craig Hughes, who sits on the town's Architecture and Site Control Commission, and incumbent Maryann Moise Derwin, who joined the council in 2005. Mr. Richards would be running for his second term; Ms. Derwin has been mayor twice and would be running for her third term.

Ms. Reiss recently championed the unsuccessful bid to use artificial grass on the new soccer field at the Woodside Priory School. She co-chaired the $18 million fundraising campaign for the new Town Center that opened in 2008; has been on committees advising the council on parks, recreation, trails and paths; and ran unsuccessfully for a council seat in 2005.

As for Mr. Hinshaw, Town Clerk Sharon Hanlon said she will have no additional information on Mr. Hinshaw until he files his completed candidacy papers. The Almanac was unable to reach him for an interview.

The other person who has taken out papers is attorney Judith Hasko, a member of the Trails and Paths Committee and recently a member of an ad hoc committee that looked into the issue of planning affordable housing to comply with state mandates.

Incumbent Ted Driscoll, who has served on the council for five terms (20 years), told the Almanac that he has a lot on his plate in his private life and is "strongly leaning toward not running again."

The candidate filing period closes at 5 p.m. Friday, Aug. 9. For offices without an eligible incumbent seeking re-election — as will be the case if Mr. Driscoll does not run for re-election — the filing period will be extended another five calendar days and will close at 5 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 14. All terms are for four years.

Candidate rosters are updated by the elections office every day at 5 p.m.

Go to tinyurl.com/Elect-202 for roster updates, or to shapethefuture.org for more information on San Mateo County elections.


There are no comments yet for this post