Contested elections ahead in Portola Valley, schools | August 21, 2013 | Almanac | Almanac Online |


News - August 21, 2013

Contested elections ahead in Portola Valley, schools

• More candidates than seats in several races.

by Dave Boyce

With the close of the candidate filing period on Aug. 15, the roster of candidates is set and several contested elections are ahead — for the Town Council in Portola Valley, for the school boards in the Sequoia Union High School District and San Mateo County Community College District, and for the board of the Los Trancos County Water District.

Uncontested elections are ahead for the three seats on the Woodside Town Council, one seat on the Ladera Recreation District board and two seats on the West Bay Sanitary District board unless the agencies cancel the elections by Thursday, Aug. 22.

The elections will be held Nov. 5. All candidates are running for four-year terms and are listed in order shown on the final roster from the county elections office.

Portola Valley

In Portola Valley, three seats are open on the five-member Town Council, and running for those seats are two incumbents and two challengers. The candidates are F. John Richards, the current mayor, who is running for his second term; Craig R. Hughes, currently a member of the Architectural and Site Control Commission (ASCC); Maryann Moise Derwin, who is running for her third term; and Bud Eisberg, a retired airline pilot and a former member of the ASCC.

Five-term councilman Ted Driscoll chose not to run for re-election.

Woodside council

There is one candidate in each of the three districts with an open seat on the five-member Woodside Town Council. The candidates are Deborah Cody Gordon, incumbent running for her third term from District 2; Dave Tanner, incumbent running for in his fourth election from District 4; and Anne M. Kasten, the current mayor and running for her second term from District 6.

High schools

The Sequoia Union High School District board oversees the operations of four comprehensive high schools in San Mateo County, including Menlo-Atherton High in Atherton and Woodside High in unincorporated Woodside. Two incumbents and one challenger are running for two seats on the five-member board.

The candidates are Alan Sarver, an incumbent from Belmont running for his second term; Georgia Jack, a Redwood City resident and a manager of the office of development at Stanford University; and Chris Thomsen, an incumbent from Menlo Park running for his second term.

Community colleges

The San Mateo County Community College District oversees operations of three community colleges in the county: Canada College in Woodside, College of San Mateo in San Mateo, and Skyline College in San Bruno. One incumbent and three challengers are running for two seats on the five-member board.

The candidates are Richard Holober, an incumbent from Millbrae running for his fifth term; Thomas Mohr, former president of Canada Community College and a resident of San Mateo; J. Samuel Diaz, a writer; and George Yang, an environmental business adviser and a resident of Menlo Park.

Water district

The Los Trancos County Water District used to oversee drinking water supplies for the unincorporated communities of Los Trancos Woods and Vista Verde. After selling the water system to California Water Service Company in 2006, the district has been using its tax revenues for rebates that encourage people to reduce water use, and for maintenance activities to reduce wildfire risks in the district.

There are four candidates for three seats. The candidates are Stanley R. Gage, a retired manager; William Sloan Coats, an attorney and resident of Los Trancos Woods; Charlie Krenz, an engineer and resident of Los Trancos Woods; George A. Lee, a consultant and resident of Portola Valley.

West Bay Sanitary District

There are two seats open on the five-member board of the West Bay Sanitary District. The candidates, both incumbents, are Edward "Ned" Moritz and Roy Theile-Sardina.

Recreation district

There are three seats open on the board for the Ladera Recreation District. Only one candidate qualified for the ballot: Inger H. Rarick of Portola Valley.


There are no comments yet for this post