Police in Atherton over the next couple of weeks will be keeping a particularly sharp lookout for and issuing tickets to drivers and passengers not wearing seatbelts.

The campaign runs through Sunday, June 4, said Atherton Police Chief Robert Brennan.

A first offense is $91 for anyone 16 or older; the fine is $340 and one “point count” on the driver’s record if the unbelted passenger is a child under 16. Second offenses are $193 and $871, respectively.

About 2.7 million people in California travel unbelted, according to the 2005 California Seat Belt Use Survey. And the California Driver Handbook notes that half of all traffic deaths occur within 25 miles of home.

Leave a comment